Collection of Most Important Questions : Awards and Honours

Winner of important Awards and Honours: Here is a list of important awards and honours winner in the last 3-4 months, these are very important current affairs questions for upcoming exams and interviews.

Bharat Ratna for Sachin R. Tendulkar and C.N.R. Rao: The Centre has conferred Bharat Ratna on Sachin Tendulkar and on eminent scientist C. N. R. Rao.

According to Fortune Magazine, ICICI Bank MD and CEO Chanda Kochar has been named as the “Most Powerful Business-Woman” in India for the third consecutive year.

Mallika Srinivasan, CEO of Tractors and Farm Equipment Ltd. received a “Lifetime Entrepreneur Achievement Award” from TiE Chennai for steering the company to its position as the World’s 3rd Largest Tractor Manufacturer.

5th Deutsche Bank prize: Reserve Bank of India Governor Raghuram G Rajan has been awarded the Fifth Deutsche Bank Prize for Financial Economics 2013, in recognition of his ground-breaking research work which influenced financial and macro-economic policies around the world.

Man Booker Prize 2013: Eleanor Catton, 28, New Zealand author won the Man Booker Prize 2013 for her second novel entitled ‘The Luminaries’, published by Granta.

Mother Teresa award 2013: Former Miss Universe Sushmita Sen conferred with the Mother Teresa Memorial International Award by NGO The Harmony Foundation for her efforts towards achieving social justice in Mumbai.

Award for national integration: Eminent agricultural scientist M.S. Swaminathan selected for the Indira Gandhi Award for National Integration for the year 2012.

Ashok Amritraj won Soul of India Award for the year 2013.

Top-50 women business leaders: Four Indians led by ICICI Bank CEO Chanda Kochhar have made to Fortune magazine’s global list of top-50 women business leaders. Kochhar has been ranked fourth, followed by National Stock Exchange chief Chitra Ramkrishna at 17th, Axis Bank’s Shikha Sharma at 32nd and HSBC’s Naina Lal Kidwai at 42nd place among the Indians on the international list of most powerful women in business. The list is topped by Brazilian energy giant Petrobras’ CEO, Maria Das Gracas Foster.

Miss ASIA PACIFIC 2013: 21 -year old Srishti Rana has made the country proud by winning the coveted Miss Asia Pacific 2013 title outclassing 49 other contestants in Korea. Srishti was being crowned by the reigning Miss Asia Pacific World 2012 Himangini Singh Yadu from India.

Sakharov human rights prize 2013: Malala Yousafzai received EU’s Sakharov Human Rights Prize 2013.

DUN & BRADSTREET infra awards: IRCON International Limited was selected as the Top Infrastructure Company under the category Construction Infrastructure Development – Mid at the third edition of Dun and Bradstreet Infra Awards 2013.

First zero landless district: Union Minister for Rural Development Jairam Ramesh declared Kannur in Kerala as the first zero-landless district in the country.

Miss universe 2013: Miss Venezuela Gabriela Isler has been crowned as Miss Universe 2013.

World athletes of 2013: bolt and fraser-pryce were crowned World Athletes of 2013.

Peta’s person of the year: Sashi Tharoor, the Union Minister of State for Human Resource Development was named as the Person of the Year by the animal rights body PETA – India, for taking steps to advance animal protection.

Sword of honour award: Rajiv Gandhi International Airport (RGIA), Hyderabad awarded the Sword of Honour for safety management in London.

First centenary film award at IFFI: Waheeda Rehman, the veteran actress of Bollywood will be conferred with the inaugural Centenary Award for the Indian Film Personality of the Year 2013, at the 44th International Film Festival of India (IFFI) in Goa.

Dayawati Modi Award: Anjolie Ela Menon awarded with Dayawati Modi Award.

Golden shoe award: Lionel Messi, the Barcelonan forward footballer won the Golden Shoe award.

NSS best university award 2012-13: President of India presented Indira Gandhi National Service Scheme Best University Award 2012-13, to Mangalore University of Karnataka.

Indira Gandhi Prize for peace 2013: Dr. Angela Merkel, German Chancellor selected for Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace, Disarmament and Development for the year 2013.

India pride award: IRCON International Limited has been awarded the prestigious India Pride Awards for Excellence in Central PSUs in India.

Image Enhancement. The award was received by the CMD of IRCON from HRD ministry.

Col. C .K. Nayudu lifetime achievement award 2013: Kapil Dev, the former Captain of Indian Cricket Team selected for the BCCI’s prestigious Col. CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement award for the year 2013.

KMC-Intach heritage award 2013: The 103-year-old Park Mansions on Kolkata’s upscale Park Street was given the prestigious heritage award for the restoration of its colonial era structure.

Cheteshwar Pujara, the Indian cricketer and a Test batsman, bagged the Emerging Cricketer of the Year trophy at the ICC Annual awards announced in Dubai.

Pope Francis was named as the Person of the Year 2013 by Time Magazine for changing the perception of the Catholic Church within nine months.

Wipro Chairman Azim Premji received ET Lifetime Achievement Award 2013.

Miss Venezuela Alyz Henrich has been crowned with the pageant of Miss Earth 2013 at the Versailles Palace, Philippines.

First female judge in PAK’s court: Ashraf Jehan a female judge sworn-in at Pakistan’s national sharia court which hears cases under the Islamic legislation.

Filed Under: Current Affairs

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Leave a Reply

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a Gravatar.